How to route incoming calls to a speech server

jjjumper

Sorry for the complete newbie question here, but I've read through the trunk forum, the speech server integration forum and some others as well as the documentation (I could only find v2.0.1 even though I have 3.0.2998 installed) for everything I can find about trunks and routing and I'm still not getting anywhere.

Maybe I'm trying to use the product in a way that it's not intended, but from forum posts I've seen here and articles elsewhere on the net, I think I'm just missing some key setting.

I have a Microsoft Speech Server installation on an internal machine that works fine internally with the following setup: In my pbxnsip 3.0 installation I have a trunk configured as an Outbound Proxy with "speechserveripaddress:5060;transport=tcp" in the Outbound Proxy field. In the dial plan I have only 1 entry...Pref: 100/Trunk: speech server/Pattern: 70xx. Using X-Lite, I can register as extension 40 (the only account I have defined) and I can successfully call my speech server application by dialing 7000.

The part I'm getting tripped up on is: How do I accept calls from the internet for that speech server?

The calls will be coming from multiple IP addresses (SIP proxies, I assume)...not a single address or domain. We have port udp/5060 and the RTP port range forwarded to the pbxnsip machine from our firewall.

From what I've read, I should be able to create a second trunk (a "SIP Gateway") called "localhost", with "localhost" in the "Domain" and "Outbound Proxy" fields and with "Global" set to "yes" and that trunk will handle all incoming traffic that isn't detected as a local extension. Here is the line from the 2.0.1 documentation that makes me think this should work this way:

"The domain name "localhost" matches any domain name presented in the Request-URI, as usual." - top of page 108

It doesn't seem to matter how I twiddle the settings, I keep getting:

[8] Could not find a trunk (2 trunks)