Trunk Setup

Joe Kelly

Hi All,

I am new to SIPNPBX and need some guidance.

I am using the CS410 embedded appliance and want to seup a trunk.

When I select SIP Registeration on the "Trunks menu" it just goes to "register" and nothing happens.

Some help and guidance appreciated.

Joe

Well Joe it looks like you have subscribed to a SIP Service Provider already. (ITSP)

Go to the trunks settings of the trunk and set the last entry "send call to extension" to a destination where you want the incoming calls to go to.

Use an extension first, it will be easier to see if it works and troublshoot if it doesn't.

Then go to the "Dial Plans" category and create a new dial plan and give it a name like SIPTrunk.

For a beginner I would suggest a simple dial plan like this:

Pref Trunk Pattern Replacement

100 SIPTrunk 9* *

Now you will dial 9 first followed by the telephone number you want to connect to.

Don't forget that you need to dial the entire number as you would from a regular telephone. Example 1 800 234-5678

Or something different if you are outside the USA.

The number of channels you receive from your SIP Provider will determin how many calls can be placed at one time.

Once you get it working, you can move on to Auto Attendants, ACD's and IVR's for call distribution.

Bill H

Well Joe it looks like you have subscribed to a SIP Service Provider already. (ITSP)

Go to the trunks settings of the trunk and set the last entry "send call to extension" to a destination where you want the incoming calls to go to.

Use an extension first, it will be easier to see if it works and troublshoot if it doesn't.

Then go to the "Dial Plans" category and create a new dial plan and give it a name like SIPTrunk.

For a beginner I would suggest a simple dial plan like this:

Pref Trunk Pattern Replacement

100 SIPTrunk 9* *

Now you will dial 9 first followed by the telephone number you want to connect to.